Thread Rating:
  • 5 Vote(s) - 2.8 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Airtel CLT20 Schedule Announced

Mumbai, Maharashtra, India, Tuesday, June 29, 2010: Wanderers Stadium, one of world cricket’s most famous venues, will host the Airtel Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) Final after the format and match schedule for the second edition of the tournament was announced today.

The Airtel CLT20, the grand finale of Twenty20 cricket between the world’s champion teams, will start on Friday 10 September with a Group B clash between Sachin Tendulkar’s Mumbai Indians and Alviro Petersen’s Highveld Lions at Wanderers in Johannesburg.

All matches throughout the tournament will be broadcast in prime time in India starting at 5pm or 9pm IST. Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore will fight it out in Group B, while Chennai Super Kings have been drawn in Group A alongside the Twenty20 champions from Australia, South Africa, New Zealand and Sri Lanka.

Wanderers, which has hosted some of cricket biggest matches including the 2003 ICC World Cup Final, 2007 ICC World Twenty20 Final and the 2009 IPL Final, will add another chapter to its storied history in September as teams from around the world battle to be crowned the best of the best.

Durban and Centurion have been awarded the Semi Finals on 24 and 25 September respectively, with the Final to be played at Wanderers on Sunday 26 September.

The 10 competing teams have been divided into two groups of five for a round robin phase before the top two teams from each group progress to the semi finals. Matches throughout the tournament have been evenly distributed across the four venues with each hosting at least five fixtures, including the finals.

Mumbai and the Highveld Lions have been drawn in Group B alongside South Australia’s Redbacks, Royal Challengers Bangalore and West Indies’ representative which will be determined in late-July.

Group A includes MS Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings (2010 IPL Champions), Australia’s Twenty20 Big Bash Champions Victoria, along with the Warriors (South Africa’s Pro Series Champions), Wayamba (Sri Lanka) and Central Stags (New Zealand).

Play in Group A starts on Saturday 11 September in Port Elizabeth with virtual international-strength clashes between the Warriors and Wayamba in the early match, and Chennai Super Kings and Central Stags in the late fixture in Durban.

Centurion gets its first taste of Airtel CLT20 action the following day with a blockbuster Group B double-header between the Highveld Lions and South Australia, and Royal Challengers Bangalore and the qualified team from the West Indies.

Shashank Manohar, Airtel CLT20 Chairman, said:

“With 100 international stars qualified to participate through one – or more – of their Twenty20 teams, fans will be treated to daily battle between the world’s best cricketers.”

“Fans attending any of the matches throughout the tournament will be entertained by the highest quality Twenty20 cricket featuring South Africa’s home grown heroes and world cricket’s biggest and brightest stars.”

A number of players have qualified to play for two or more teams, including Jacques Kallis (Warriors*, Royal Challengers Bangalore), Mark Boucher (Warriors*, Royal Challengers Bangalore), Makhaya Ntini (Warriors*, Chennai Super Kings), Kieron Pollard (South Australian Redbacks, Mumbai Indian), Dwayne Bravo (Victorian Bushrangers, Mumbai Indian) and Cameron White (Victorian Bushrangers*, Royal Challengers Bangalore).

New Zealand’s Ross Taylor has become the first player in CLT20’s short history to qualify for three teams, with his home team, Central Stags, and ‘away’ teams Victorian Bushrangers and Royal Challengers Bangalore qualifying for the event.

If Trinidad & Tobago emerge as Champions of the West Indies Cricket Board’s domestic Twenty20 competition, Pollard and Bravo will also join Taylor with three options for the tournament.

As was the case in 2009, if a player is selected to play for an ‘away’ team rather than his ‘home’ team (the team from the country he is eligible to represent in international cricket), the ‘away’ team must pay US$200,000 compensation to the ‘home’ team.

‘Away’ teams are not eligible for compensation if a player chooses to play for his ‘home’ team.

Note: * designates ‘home’ team

Key features of the Airtel CLT20 Format and Match Schedule
• 10 Teams divided into 2 Groups of 5
• Top 2 Teams from each Group advance to the Semi Finals
• 23 Matches in total (same as 2009)
• Group A – Chennai Super Kings, Warriors, Victorian Bushrangers, Wayamba Elevens, Central Stags
• Group B – Mumbai Indians, Highveld Lions, South Australian Redbacks, Royal Challengers Bangalore, West Indies Domestic T20 Champions (TBC)
• 5 Double Headers
• Matches evenly distributed across four venues
• Semi Finals in Durban and Centurion
• Final in Johannesburg

2010 Airtel Champions League Twenty20 Competing Teams
• Chennai Super Kings (DLF Indian Premier League – India)
• Mumbai Indians (DLF Indian Premier League – India)
• Royal Challengers Bangalore (DLF Indian Premier League – India)
• Victorian Bushrangers (KFC Twenty20 Big Bash – Australia)
• South Australian Redbacks (KFC Twenty20 Big Bash – Australia)
• Warriors (Standard Bank Pro 20 Series – South Africa)
• Highveld Lions (Standard Bank Pro 20 Series – South Africa)
• Central Stags (HRV Cup Twenty20 – New Zealand)
• Wayamba Elevens (Inter-Provincial Twenty20 Cup – Sri Lanka)
• TBC (West Indies Domestic Twenty20 Champions)

To view The 2010 Airtel Champions League Twenty20 Match Schedule, please download it from the attachment.

Attached Files
.doc   AirtelCLT20.doc (Size: 94.5 KB / Downloads: 43)
Thanks given by:
Thanks given by:
South Africa will be hosting the second edition of the multi-million dollar Champions League Twenty20 Cricket Match. The tournament is going to be played with 10 teams from six countries.
Champions League will start on September 10 and the final will be played on September 26. Last year, 12 teams participated in the tournament but this time no team is coming from England. The number of matches will be 23.

Champions League Twenty20 Schedule

Thanks given by:

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Update: The Ashes 2019 - Schedule, news updates/Results nairrk 0 642 07-16-2019, 08:44 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Indian Team for World Cup 2019 announced nairrk 0 646 04-15-2019, 06:41 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  Update: Australia tour of India 2019 - News, Schedule & Score updates nairrk 15 1,573 03-14-2019, 07:17 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  Update: India tour of New Zealand, 2019 - Schedule/news & match updates nairrk 14 1,422 02-10-2019, 06:33 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Indian Team for Australian Test series announced nairrk 1 723 10-27-2018, 07:29 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  Update: India tour of England 2018 - Match schedule & score updates nairrk 48 3,897 09-12-2018, 07:01 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: India To Play 2 Tests, 5 ODIs, 3T20Is Against West Indies, Full Schedule Announced nairrk 0 774 09-05-2018, 10:47 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: India/Ireland 2 T20I Series - Schedule /Score updates nairrk 5 1,129 06-30-2018, 07:01 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  Update: FIFA World Cup 2018 - Schedule/ News updates nairrk 5 1,085 06-15-2018, 09:04 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  Update: Pro Kabaddi 2018 - Full Schedule & News updates nairrk 2 912 06-01-2018, 09:42 AM
Last Post: nairrk

Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)