Thread Rating:
  • 4 Vote(s) - 1.75 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Australian cricketers clinch series against S.Africa
DURBAN, South Africa (AFP) — Australia clinched the Test series against South Africa when they won the second Test by 175 runs at Kingsmead here on Tuesday.

South Africa were bowled out for 370 in their second innings with 37.4 overs to spare on the final day.

The series win enabled Australia to bounce back after losing a home series against the same opponents earlier in the season.

The victory was virtually sealed when the tourists dismissed overnight batsmen Jacques Kallis and AB de Villiers inside the first hour.

South Africa lost another two wickets before lunch. Although Mark Boucher and Morne Morkel resisted for 79 minutes after the break, the end came quickly after Boucher gave a return catch to part-time spinner Marcus North.

A win for Australia would clinch the three-match series after they won the first Test in Johannesburg by 162 runs.

Kallis and De Villiers made their third wicket stand worth 187 before Kallis was caught at second slip off Mitchell Johnson in the sixth over of the day for 93.

Kallis added just five runs after being dropped by Michael Clarke at point off Ben Hilfenhaus in the previous over.

Three overs later De Villiers was caught behind in Peter Siddle's first over of the day for 84.

With no chance of chasing down a target of 546, Duminy and Boucher resisted for an hour until Duminy was caught behind for 17, gloving a vicious lifter from Hilfenhaus.

Paul Harris was caught at deep midwicket off occasional left-arm spinner Simon Katich, who went on to take two more wickets and finish with figures of three for 45.

Australia took the new ball which was due when South Africa resumed at 244 for two at the start of the day.


Australia, first innings, 352

South Africa, first innings, 138

Australia, second innings, 331-5 dec

South Africa, second innings (overnight 244-2)

Fall: 1-63, 2-80, 3-267, 4-279, 5-299, 6-307, 7-345


Result: Australia won by 175 runs.

Series: Australia lead the three-match series 2-0.

Umpires: Asad Rauf (PAK), B. Bowden (NZL). TV umpire: S. Bucknor (WIS). Match referee: J. Crowe (NZL).

Remaining match: March 19-23, Cape Town.

Thanks given by:

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  General News: Indian Team for Australian Test series announced nairrk 1 723 10-27-2018, 07:29 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: India/Ireland 2 T20I Series - Schedule /Score updates nairrk 5 1,129 06-30-2018, 07:01 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: ICC World Cup 2019: India to Open Campaign Against South Africa nairrk 0 629 04-24-2018, 07:41 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Zimbabwe to host Australia, Pakistan for T20 tri-series in July nairrk 0 675 04-11-2018, 02:00 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: South Africa's tour to Sri Lanka to include ODIs, one-off T20I nairrk 0 658 04-04-2018, 02:20 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  Update: India and Bangladesh in Sri Lanka T20I Tri-Series, 2018/News & Score updates nairrk 28 2,133 03-19-2018, 07:27 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  Update: India tour of South Africa 2018 - Fixtures, news & Score updates nairrk 48 3,099 02-25-2018, 07:19 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Series win gives New Zealand top spot in T20I rankings nairrk 0 657 01-04-2018, 12:34 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Kidambi Srikanth Wins French Open to Clinch 4th Super Series Title of 2017 nairrk 0 854 10-30-2017, 07:35 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Kidambi Srikanth Wins Denmark Open to Clinch Third Super Series Title of 2017 nairrk 0 912 10-23-2017, 07:30 AM
Last Post: nairrk

Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)