Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
General News Kohli adjudged ICC Cricketer of the Year

Indian captain Virat Kohli swept the top honours at the ICC Awards 2017, clinching the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy after being adjudged the ICC Cricketer of the Year and ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year. Kohli was also named captain of both the Test as well as the ODI team of the year. Australian Test captain Steve Smith has been awarded ICC Test Cricketer of the Year as the world governing body announced the annual awards on Thursday (January 18).

Kohli racked up some serious numbers across formats in the qualifying period - from September 2016 to September 2017. He had scored 2203 Test runs at an average of 77.80, with eight centuries to his credit; 1818 ODI runs at 82.63, inclusive of seven hundreds; and 299 T20I runs at a stunning strike rate of 153.

"It means a lot to win to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for becoming the ICC Cricketer of the Year 2017 and also the ICC ODI Player of the Year," Kohli said. "I won that back in 2012 also but it's the first time winning the Garfield Sobers Trophy, and it's a huge honour for me. It's probably the biggest of all in world cricket and two Indians getting it back-to-back makes it more special.

"Last time it was Ash [Ravichandran Ashwin] and this time I'm getting it, so I'm really really honoured and I'd like to thank the ICC for recognising all the hard work that we all put in for our respective sides and I want to congratulate all the other winners also."

Smith scored an astonishing 1875 runs at an average of 78.12 in the 16 Tests he played in that duration, including eight centuries and another five half-centuries. "It's a great honour to win the Test Player of the Year award," he said, "It's called Test cricket for a reason and I'm very humbled to win that award. I've had a really good year - I think I've scored six hundreds in the year and more importantly led the team to an Ashes victory, which is something that is really important to me. I am incredibly humbled and I love playing Test cricket - it's the game that challenges your skills and your mind the most."

Pakistan's Hasan Ali was named ICC's Emerging Player of the Year while Afghanistan's spin sensation Rashid Khan took home the ICC Associate Cricketer of the Year silverware. Hasan's 3 for 19 played a vital role in Pakistan's Champions Trophy win against India. Rashid, on the other hand, picked 60 wickets for Afghanistan in 2017 - a record for an Associate player in a calendar year.

Marais Erasmus, for the second year in succession, was awarded the ICC Umpire of the Year. Erasmus joined ICC's Elite Panel in 2010 and has officiated in 47 Tests and 74 ODIs, including the Champions Trophy finale, and 26 T20Is.

Pakistan's Champions Trophy triumph in England has won the inaugural award of ICC Fans' Moment of the Year. Pakistan stunned arch-rivals India in the title clash to bag their first ICC trophy since 2009.

Yuzvendra Chahal's 6 for 25 against England in Bangalore last year has been recognised by ICC as the T20I Performance of the Year.

England pacer Anya Shrubsole's iconic moment of sportsmanship - as she consoled South African skipper Dane van Niekerk - after the teams' gripping Women's World Cup semifinal won her the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2017: Dean Elgar, David Warner, Virat Kohli ©, Steve Smith, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ben Stokes, Quinton de Kock (wk), R Ashwin, Mitchell Starc, Kagiso Rabada, James Anderson.

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2017: David Warner, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli ©, Babar Azam, AB de Villiers, Quinton de Kock (wk), Ben Stokes, Trent Boult, Hasan Ali, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah.

Airtel Digital HD Recorder / Kerala Vision Digital TV
Thanks given by:

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Update: India Retain ICC Test Championship Mace ​Third Year Running nairrk 0 469 04-02-2019, 09:46 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Kohli rested, Rohit to lead during Asia Cup nairrk 0 659 09-01-2018, 02:09 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Kohli displaces Smith as No. 1 Test batsman nairrk 0 676 08-05-2018, 01:52 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Kohli to receive Polly Umrigar Award nairrk 0 617 06-07-2018, 01:54 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  Update: CA ban Smith, Warner for one year nairrk 0 641 03-28-2018, 06:36 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: India include Hooda, Sundar for Nidahas Trophy; rest Kohli, Dhoni nairrk 0 710 02-25-2018, 06:47 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Virat Kohli grabs second position in ICC Test rankings nairrk 0 749 12-07-2017, 06:42 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Virat Kohli Claims Third Spot in ODI Ton List with Tendulkar in Sight nairrk 0 778 09-01-2017, 02:44 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: US Open 2017: Prize money at the last Major of the year gets an increase nairrk 0 737 08-03-2017, 10:35 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Kohli breaks Tendulkar's record of most ODI centuries in chases nairrk 0 603 07-07-2017, 02:02 PM
Last Post: nairrk

Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)