Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
General News LG ICC 2013 Awards winners list
Australia captain Michael Clarke was today announced as the winner of the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year and was also named as the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year.

The announcement was made ahead of the broadcast of the LG ICC Awards 2013 TV show which premieres on Saturday (14 December) in most countries across the globe. The show is hosted by former Australia captain Ricky Ponting who won the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy in 2006 and 2007, ICC Test Cricketer of the Year in 2006 and was appointed captain of ICC's ODI Team of the Year in 2007, 2008 and 2010.

Clarke was earlier named in the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year in Mumbai on 3 December. In the same event, India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was revealed as the LG People's Choice award winner.

Clarke has been joined on the winners' list by Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara, who was named ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year, and India's Cheteshwar Pujara, who claimed his first-ever ICC award after being named the ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year.

Also joining Pujara on the winners list for the first time are New Zealand captain Suzie Bates, who won the ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year award, Pakistan fast bowler Umar Gul, whose five for six against South Africa won him the ICC T20I Performance of the Year award, Ireland's Kevin O'Brien, who won the Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year award, and Richard Kettleborough of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires, who won the David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year.

England's Sarah Taylor clinched the ICC Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year award for the second year in a row, while Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardena won his second ICC Spirit of Cricket award, this time for walking without waiting for an umpire's decision when batting on 91 against New Zealand in Galle in November 2012.

In total there are 11 individual awards, as well as the two ICC Teams of the Year - for Tests and ODIs.

ICC President, Alan Isaac, said: "I'd like to congratulate all of the winners announced today, who are all highly deserving of their awards. It's been a fantastic year of cricket and I think a special congratulation is needed for Michael Clarke, who claimed two awards this evening, including of course the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year.

"I would also like to extend my thanks to all of those on the Selection Panel and the various Voting Academies who gave up their time to vote for the various awards."

The full list of winners:

ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) - Michael Clarke (Australia)
ICC Test Cricketer of the Year - Michael Clarke (Australia)
ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year - Suzie Bates (New Zealand)
ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year - Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)
ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year - Cheteshwar Pujara (India)
ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year - Kevin O'Brien (Ireland)
ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year - Umar Gul (Pakistan)
ICC T20I Women's Cricketer of the Year - Sarah Taylor (England)
ICC Spirit of Cricket Award - Mahela Jayawardena (Sri Lanka)
ICC Umpire of the Year (winning the David Shepherd Trophy) - Richard Kettleborough
LG People's Choice - MS Dhoni

ICC Test Team of the Year(in batting order): Alastair Cook (Eng - Captain), Cheteshwar Pujara (Ind), Hashim Amla (SA), Michael Clarke (Aus), Michael Hussey (Aus), AB de Villiers (SA), MS Dhoni (Ind - wicketkeeper), Graeme Swann (Eng), Dale Steyn (SA), James Anderson (Eng), Vernon Philander (SA), 12th Man - Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind)

ICC ODI Team of the Year (in batting order): Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL), Shikhar Dhawan (Ind), Hashim Amla (SA), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), AB de Villiers (SA), MS Dhoni (Ind, wicketkeeper/captain), Ravindra Jadeja (Ind), Saeed Ajmal (Pak), Mitchell Starc (Aus), James Anderson (Eng), Lasith Malinga (SL), 12th Man - Mitchell McClenaghan (NZ)

Thanks given by:

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  General News: Hockey World Cup 2018 - Full Fixture List/Results/Points Table nairrk 17 1,513 12-17-2018, 07:01 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Virat Kohli Claims Third Spot in ODI Ton List with Tendulkar in Sight nairrk 0 779 09-01-2017, 02:44 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Winners of Khel Ratna, Arjuna, Dronacharya, Dhyan Chand awards announced nairrk 0 642 08-22-2017, 07:00 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: MS Dhoni Beats Sourav Ganguly to Top List of Slowest ODI Fifties for India nairrk 0 718 07-03-2017, 04:42 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  Update: Craig McDermott among list of India coach aspirants nairrk 0 712 06-04-2017, 10:40 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Champions Trophy winners to pocket USD 2.2 million nairrk 0 674 05-15-2017, 07:19 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Kohli, Ashwin bag top honours at BCCI Awards nairrk 0 789 03-09-2017, 09:19 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  IDF Exclusive: List of flag bearers for India at Olympics opening ceremony rahul1117_kumar 0 534 08-04-2016, 11:36 PM
Last Post: rahul1117_kumar
  General News: FIG awards Dipa Karmakar with 'World Class Gymnast' badge ahead of Rio Olympics nairrk 0 492 07-08-2016, 06:24 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  Breaking News: Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers smash records, Here's all the list of records created rahul1117_kumar 0 631 05-14-2016, 08:02 PM
Last Post: rahul1117_kumar

Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)