Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
General News Six games of CPL 2016 to be held in Florida
[Image: prv_f8edf_1459776253.jpg]
AB de Villiers will be playing the CPL for the first time.

The 2016 edition of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) will kick start a new beginning for League Cricket in The United States of America on 28 July when Guyana Amazon Warriors face off against Barbados Tridents in a night game at the Lauderhill Stadium in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. It will be a tussle for crucial league points as a total of six games will be played in Florida, across four days, before the start of the Playoffs phase.

There will be plenty of star power that will draw crowds to the 10,000-capacity stadium for the matches featuring the six CPL teams. For the opening game of the Florida leg, Florida will witness stars like AB de Villiers, Kieron Pollard and Shoaib Malik represent Barbados against Amazon Warriors, who boast of the likes of Martin Guptill, Dwayne Smith and Adam Zampa.

July 29 will also feature a single night game, featuring St Kitts & Nevis Patriots and Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR). While the Patriots have plenty of players of international reputation like Lendl Simmons, Faf du Plessis and Samuel Badree, among others, the newly re-named defending champions TKR have Dwayne Bravo, Brendon McCullum, Sunil Narine, Hashim Amla and Umar Akmal in their ranks.

July 30 and July 31 will witness double-headers. Zouks, which has the likes of David Miller, Shane Watson, Darren Sammy and Michael Hussey, will take on the Jamaica Tallawahs - who have plenty of stars like Chris Gayle, Kumar Sangakkara, Shakib Al Hasan, Andre Russell and Lasith Malinga - in the mid-day match, while Barbados and Guyana will face off for the second time in Florida in the evening match on Saturday. The Sunday doubleheader will see Trinbago face off against St Kitts & Nevis in the mid-day match while Jamaica will take on Zouks in the evening game.

"We are delighted to announce fixture information of the ground-breaking Florida leg of CPL which represents an exciting new chapter for the tournament. Supporters will have the opportunity to see all six teams in action twice over four action-packed days which will showcase some of the best West Indies and international talent on display," Damien O'Donohoe, the chief executive officer of CPL, said.

"West Indies cricket is on a real high at the moment, with the success of the men's, women's and Under-19 World Cup winning squads generating a feel-good factor locally and internationally, and plans are well underway to deliver a top-class leg in the USA," he added.

Florida-leg Schedule:

July 28 - Guyana Amazon Warriors v Barbados Tridents (7pm)

July 29 - St Kitts & Nevis Patriots v Trinbago Knight Riders (7pm)

July 30 - Zouks v Jamaica Tallawahs (midday), Barbados Tridents v Guyana Amazon Warriors (4pm)

July 31 - Trinbago Knight Riders v St Kitts & Nevis Patriots (midday), Jamaica Tallawahs v Zouks (4pm)

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots also announced the schedule for their home games, which will be played at the 8,000 capacity Warner Park. The Patriots start their CPL season when they face off against twice runners-up Guyana Amazon Warriors on June 30.

Shawn K Richards, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Education, Youth & Sports, who welcomed the announcement, said: "We remain committed to advocating and establishing what we plan to be a lasting legacy of cricket engrained in the socio-economic development and culture of our federation, as we welcome the anticipations of excitement of the Hero 2016 CPL tournament."

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots schedule (home games):

June 30 - St Kitts & Nevis Patriots v Guyana Amazon Warriors (8pm)

July 2 - St Kitts & Nevis Patriots v Jamaica Tallawahs (12 Midday)

July 3 - St Kitts & Nevis Patriots v Zouks (4pm)

July 5 - St Kitts & Nevis Patriots v Barbados Tridents (7pm)

CPL 2016 squads after Player Draft:

BARBADOS TRIDENTS: Kieron Pollard, AB de Villiers*, Shoaib Malik, Nicholas Pooran, Ravi Rampaul, David Wiese, Robin Peterson, Raymon Reifer, Ashley Nurse, Wayne Parnell, Akeal Hosein, Imran Khan, Kyle Hope, Navin Stewart, Kyle Corbin, Steven Taylor

GUYANA AMAZON WARRIORS: Sohail Tanvir, Martin Guptill*, Dwayne Smith, Chris Lynn, Rayad Emrit, Adam Zampa, Jason Mohammed, Christopher Barnwell, Veerasammy Permaul, Orlando Peters, Assad Fudadin, Anthony Bramble, Paul Wintz, Steven Jacobs, Steven Katwaroo, Ali Khan

JAMAICA TALLAWAHS: Chris Gayle, Kumar Sangakkara*, Shakib Al Hasan, Andre Russell, Imad Wasim, Lasith Malinga, Rovman Powell, Chadwick Walton, Jon-Russ Jaggesar, Andre McCarthy, Jonathan Foo, Alex Ross, Kesrick Williams, Nkrumah Bonner, Garey Mathurin, Timroy Allen

ST KITTS & NEVIS PATRIOTS: Lendl Simmons, Faf du Plessis*, Samuel Badree, Brad Hodge, Thisara Perera, Jonathan Carter, Krishmar Santokie, Evin Lewis, Tabraiz Shamsi, Kieran Powell, JJ Smuts, Devon Thomas, Shamarh Brooks, Tino Best, Jeremiah Louis, Nikhil Dutta

TRINBAGO KNIGHT RIDERS: Dwayne Bravo, Brendon McCullum*, Sunil Narine, Hashim Amla, Umar Akmal, Kevon Cooper, Sulieman Benn, Colin Munro, Anton Devcich, Ronsford Beaton, Nikita Miller, Javon Searles, William Perkins, Yannick Cariah, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Hamza Tariq

ST LUCIA ZOUKS: David Miller, Shane Watson*, Darren Sammy, Michael Hussey, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Morne Morkel, Fidel Edwards, Derone Davis, Eddie Leie, Keron Cottoy, Shane Shillingford, Delorn Johnson, Kyle Mayers, Keddy Lesporis, Nitish Kumar
Airtel Digital HD Recorder / Kerala Vision Digital TV
Thanks given by:

Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Update: 21st Commonwealth (Gold Coast 2018) Games - News Updates nairrk 8 1,345 04-16-2018, 07:26 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  Update: 21st Commonwealth (Gold Coast 2018) Games - India's matches & Results nairrk 43 3,184 04-16-2018, 07:20 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: India to host 81 more home games during 2019-23 cycle nairrk 0 733 12-12-2017, 07:27 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: No room for Australia, New Zealand in Asian Games: OCA chief nairrk 0 1,012 09-20-2017, 09:41 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Chennai Open renamed as Maharashtra Open, to be held in Pune nairrk 0 766 07-22-2017, 10:11 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: IPL 2017 auction to be held on February 20 nairrk 0 840 02-03-2017, 07:56 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  Update: ISL 2016 - Fixtures, Updates, Results & Points Table nairrk 63 4,393 12-19-2016, 07:27 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Junior Hockey World Cup 2016: India Beat Belgium 2-1 to Clinch Title nairrk 0 687 12-18-2016, 08:03 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Asian Champions Trophy 2016: India Trump Pakistan 3-2 To Win Second Title nairrk 0 832 10-31-2016, 07:34 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  Update: Kabbadi World Cup 2016 - Match updates/Results & Points Table nairrk 16 1,962 10-23-2016, 07:28 AM
Last Post: nairrk

Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)