Advertisement


Advertisement

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
General News WhatsApp ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature is finally here: Here’s how it works
Advertisement
#1
If you have been sending messages to unintended recipients on WhatsApp and having awkward apology sessions thereafter, this piece of information will cheer you up. After working on the feature for quite some time, the message revoke or delete message for everyone is finally out of beta, and being rolled out to iOS users.

Starting today, WhatsApp is slowly rolling out the Delete for Everyone feature for iOS, Android, and Windows Phone users. As WABetainfo.com notes, the feature allows you to delete messages in private chats or group conversations. The caveat here is that both the sender and receiver need to be on the latest WhatsApp version.

As is the case with a lot of new WhatsApp features, the Delete for Everyone feature is also being rolled out gradually and you may not immediately get the prompt for the update. The feature applies to text messages, images, videos, GIFs, voice messages, contact cards, files, locations, quoted messages, status replies, and stickers (a new feature expected to be rolled out soon).

How Delete for Everyone feature works
When you delete the unintended message, WhatsApp sends a fake copy of the message to the recipient. When the recipient receives that copy, their device won’t show the notification, nor will it save it in his chat history, but it will check if there is the ID of the message in WhatsApp’s database, locate it, and correctly revoke it.

The revoked or recalled messages will also be deleted in the notifications center on iOS. On Android, this message will be replaced with “This message was deleted for everyone”. For quoted messages, WhatsApp is currently not recalling the message that is contained in a quoted reply. Broadcast List also does not support message revoking ability. WhatsApp for Symbian also does not support the feature.

One of the most important things to note here is that you can only use ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature within seven minutes of sending an unintended message. Now this could be a little tricky given how millions of conversations are happening on the platform every minute and in group conversations, it is highly unlikely of members not seeing the unintended message almost as soon as it is sent. Secondly, WhatsApp will not show you the notification for message revoke. On Android, “This message was deleted for everyone” will be the only indication.

Source:
___________________________________________
Airtel Digital HD Recorder / Kerala Vision Digital TV
Reply
Thanks given by:
Advertisement
#2
WhatsApp ‘Delete for Everyone’ works even after 7-minute limit: Here’s how

The best feature to roll out in WhatsApp‘s recent history is the ability to delete or recall messages, which you sent by mistake. The tool allows you to delete a message within a short span of seven minutes. However, there appears to be a bug, which we would like to call a little trick, to recall the message even after the set limit.

At the moment, the Delete for Everyone is available on both iOS and Android, and allows one to recall a message that has been sent. You need to long press on the message to look up for the delete option, and then choose delete for me or delete for everyone.

When the company introduced the tool, it put a cap of seven minutes, within which you could delete a sent message. However, there’s a loophole that allows you to delete a message after the cap. For this, what you need to do is tap on delete option and keep it open. We tried if keeping the option open allowed us to delete a message beyond the permissible limit.

We kept the option unlocked for around 10 minutes of having sent a message. Not only did the option remain live, but we were able to actually delete the message thereafter.

While the feature is useful in cases when you forgot to delete something after realizing it was inappropriate, beyond seven minutes is a long time for a message to remain unseen by anyone. Secondly, it is yet to be officially confirmed whether or not this is a bug and if there will be an update to disable the window of keeping the options open for longer than seven minutes. Nonetheless, if at all your recipients have been sleeping through your unintended messages, this little trick will help save your day.

Source:
___________________________________________
Airtel Digital HD Recorder / Kerala Vision Digital TV
Reply
Thanks given by:
Advertisement




Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  General News: WhatsApp to stop working on these Android, iOS devices: Check full list nairrk 0 325 12-17-2020, 06:02 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: WhatsApp users will have to accept the new privacy policy or delete their account nairrk 0 382 12-04-2020, 02:55 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: WhatsApp Disappearing Messages feature now available in India: How to use it on Android, iOS nairrk 0 329 11-24-2020, 07:20 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Whatsapp to soon introduce the ability to mute videos before sending, posting nairrk 0 326 11-20-2020, 07:46 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: WhatsApp adds a Shopping Button inside WhatsApp Business Chats nairrk 0 304 11-11-2020, 07:48 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: WhatsApp Bulk Delete Feature released: How to use it? nairrk 0 305 11-04-2020, 12:21 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: WhatsApp disappearing messages soon to become reality nairrk 0 276 11-03-2020, 10:35 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: WhatsApp gets a new feature that lets users mute a chat forever nairrk 0 290 10-26-2020, 07:38 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: How to stop WhatsApp images and videos from getting stored in phone memory? nairrk 0 305 10-13-2020, 06:58 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: New feature in Google Maps will show landmarks nairrk 0 299 10-02-2020, 11:51 AM
Last Post: nairrk

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Advertisement