Thread Rating:
  • 6 Vote(s) - 2.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Tendulkar short-listed for three awards

Maestro Sachin Tendulkar and dashing opener Virender Sehwag of India, along with South African batsman Hashim Amla and England off-spinner Graeme Swann, have been short-listed for the top honours at the LG ICC Awards 2010.

The votes have now been cast by the independent 25-person academy and one of the four players will receive the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for Cricketer of the Year at a glittering ceremony in Bangalore on October 6.

Tendulkar, Sehwag and Amla are also in the running for the Test Player of the Year award, alongside South Africa paceman Dale Steyn.

Tendulkar is in contention too for the ODI Player of the Year award with the Australian duo of Shane Watson (pace bowling all-rounder) and Ryan Harris (paceman) as well as South Africa's A.B. de Villiers (batsman).

The Twenty20 International Performance of the Year sees New Zealand's Brendon McCullum short-listed alongside Australia's Michael Hussey, Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardene and South Africa's Ryan McLaren.

Player short-list (in alphabetical order): Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla (SA), Virender Sehwag (Ind), Graeme Swann (Eng), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind).

Test Player of the Year: Hashim Amla (SA), Virender Sehwag (Ind), Dale Steyn (SA), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind).

ODI Player of the Year: Ryan Harris (Aus), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind), A.B. de Villiers (SA), Shane Watson (Aus).

Emerging Player: Umar Akmal (Pak), Steven Finn (Eng), Angelo Mathews (SL), Tim Paine (Aus).

Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year: Ryan ten Doeschate (Ned), Trent Johnson (Ire), Kevin O'Brien (Ire), Mohammed Shahzad (Afg).

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year: Michael Hussey (Aus) for his 60 not out off 24 balls against Pakistan in the semifinal of the ICC World Twenty20 2010 in St. Lucia on May 14, Mahela Jayawardene (SL) for his 100 off 64 balls against Zimbabwe in Guyana on May 3 and his 98 not out off 56 balls against West Indies in Bridgetown on May 2010 both during the ICC World Twenty20 2010, Ryan McLaren (SA) for his five for 19 against the West Indies on May 19 in Antigua, Brendon McCullum (NZ) for his 116 not out off 56 balls against Australia in Christchurch, New Zealand on February 28.

Women's Cricketer of the Year: Katherine Brunt (Eng), Shelley Nitschke (Aus), Ellyse Perry (Aus), Stafanie Taylor (WI).

Umpire of the Year: Aleem Dar, Steve Davis, Tony Hill, Simon Taufel.

Spirit of Cricket: India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe.

Thanks given by:
Congrats Tendulkar
Thanks given by:

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  General News: Arjun Tendulkar named in U19 squad for Sri Lanka tour nairrk 0 760 06-07-2018, 08:01 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Virat Kohli Claims Third Spot in ODI Ton List with Tendulkar in Sight nairrk 0 777 09-01-2017, 02:44 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Winners of Khel Ratna, Arjuna, Dronacharya, Dhyan Chand awards announced nairrk 0 642 08-22-2017, 07:00 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Kohli breaks Tendulkar's record of most ODI centuries in chases nairrk 0 601 07-07-2017, 02:02 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Kohli, Ashwin bag top honours at BCCI Awards nairrk 0 788 03-09-2017, 09:19 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: FIG awards Dipa Karmakar with 'World Class Gymnast' badge ahead of Rio Olympics nairrk 0 491 07-08-2016, 06:24 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Sachin Tendulkar inducted into Laureus Sports Academy nairrk 0 1,003 04-16-2015, 08:58 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: LG ICC 2013 Awards winners list rrk18 0 1,064 12-13-2013, 09:00 PM
Last Post: rrk18
  Greatest quotes on Sachin Tendulkar Sathish 2 5,149 10-22-2012, 06:38 PM
Last Post: abhishek63
  DTH News: Sachin Tendulkar Kanwar 54 14,531 04-26-2012, 11:00 PM
Last Post: samanth

Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)