Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Update: Binny, Mishra named in India squad for WI T20Is
[Image: prv_0e77d_1471003311.jpg]
Stuart Binny replaces Hardik Pandya as the seam bowling all-rounder in the squad.

India have included seam-bowling all-rounder Stuart Binny and legspinner Amit Mishra in the squad for the Twenty20 International series against West Indies in Florida. The All-India selection committee headed by Sandeep Patil decided to omit senior batsmen Suresh Raina and Yuvraj Singh from the 14-man squad to take on the T20 champions in a two-match series. The duo will instead ply their trade in the pink-ball Duleep Trophy tournament at home.

Hardik Pandya and Pawan Negi, the duo that represented India at the 2016 World T20 at home in March-April, were left out. As were Ashish Nehra and Harbhajan Singh.

Binny, who last represented India in a T20I in July 2015, earns his recall following Pandya's indifferent form through the showpiece T20 event (5 wickets at an economy of 10.21 and 16 runs) and the ensuing Indian Premier League season (3 wickets at an economy of 9.18).

Negi, who attracted a whopping INR 8.5 crore bid from Delhi Daredevils, was left out of the India's contingent to Zimbabwe after a forgettable IPL campaign (57 runs and 1 wicket from 8 games). Mohammed Shami, another member of India's World T20 squad, retains his place as one of four specialist seamers.

Jasprit Bumrah, named earlier in the India Green roster in the Duleep Trophy, is likely to miss the first round of matches of the four-day competition due to his selection in the national squad.

Meanwhile, KL Rahul was rewarded for his consistent showing across formats with a call-up to the first-choice T20I squad. The 24-year-old Karnataka batsman enjoyed a breakthrough season of IPL followed by a highly successful limited-overs debut on the tour of Zimbabwe.

The two T20Is will be played at the Central Broward Regional Park, Fort Lauderdale, Florida on August 27 and 28.

India Squad:

MS Dhoni (c&wk), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Amit Mishra, Stuart Binny

Airtel Digital HD Recorder / Kerala Vision Digital TV
Thanks given by:

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Update: India Retain ICC Test Championship Mace ​Third Year Running nairrk 0 454 04-02-2019, 09:46 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  Update: Australia tour of India 2019 - News, Schedule & Score updates nairrk 15 1,514 03-14-2019, 07:17 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  Update: India tour of New Zealand, 2019 - Schedule/news & match updates nairrk 14 1,365 02-10-2019, 06:33 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  Update: India tour of Australia, 2018-19 - News/match updates nairrk 45 2,751 01-18-2019, 06:22 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: Australia's limited-overs tour of India to start on February 24 nairrk 0 627 01-10-2019, 01:06 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  Update: India tour of Australia 2018-19 - News/ Match updates nairrk 19 1,399 12-10-2018, 12:16 PM
Last Post: nairrk
  Update: West Indies tour of India - News/score updates nairrk 44 2,893 11-12-2018, 06:59 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  Update: India tour of England 2018 - Match schedule & score updates nairrk 48 3,745 09-12-2018, 07:01 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  General News: India To Play 2 Tests, 5 ODIs, 3T20Is Against West Indies, Full Schedule Announced nairrk 0 760 09-05-2018, 10:47 AM
Last Post: nairrk
  Update: Sony India bets on Pro Volleyball League IDF Knight 0 687 08-20-2018, 10:52 AM
Last Post: IDF Knight

Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)