Indian DTH Community Forums
Sri Lanka name ODI squad for Oz series - Printable Version

+- Indian DTH Community Forums (
+-- Forum: (
+--- Forum: General Discussion (
+---- Forum: Sports Zone (
+---- Thread: Sri Lanka name ODI squad for Oz series (/Thread-Sri-Lanka-name-ODI-squad-for-Oz-series)

Sri Lanka name ODI squad for Oz series - Mr.Bhat - 10-03-2010

Sri Lanka have named their 16-man squad for their upcoming tour of Australia which included a few surprises. Spin wizard Muttiah Muralitharan has been included in the 16 man squad, but Ajantha Mendis has been left out of the squad. Chairman of selectors Aravinda de Silva said it was important to keep the bowling great exposed to ODI cricket ahead of next year's World Cup that Sri Lanka will be co-hosting along with India and Bangladesh.

"Muralitharan is definitely part of our World Cup plans and we have included him to give him some international exposure ahead of the big event," insisted de Silva.

Jeevan Mendis has taken the place of fellow spinner Ajantha Mendis, while Thilina Kandamby will replace Angelo Mathews if the latter is is found unfit due to a strained thigh.

"Jeevan bowls leg-spin and we can also utilise Tillakaratne Dilshan's off-spin," added de Silva.

Sri Lanka will play 1 T20 match and 3 ODIs against the Aussies.

Squad: Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Chamara Silva, Jeewan Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Chamara Kapugedara, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekera, Dilhara Fernando, Muttiah Muralitharan, Suraj Randiv, Dammika Prasad, Dinesh Chandimal.