Indian DTH Community Forums
ICC Champions Trophy prize pool at $4 million - Printable Version

+- Indian DTH Community Forums (
+-- Forum: (
+--- Forum: General Discussion (
+---- Forum: Sports Zone (
+---- Thread: ICC Champions Trophy prize pool at $4 million (/Thread-ICC-Champions-Trophy-prize-pool-at-4-million)

ICC Champions Trophy prize pool at $4 million - Mr.Bhat - 07-20-2009

The teams in this year’s International Cricket
Council (ICC) Champions Trophy in South Africa will be battling it out for a record prize pool of $4 million.

The figure is an-almost four-fold increase in the prize money on the 2004 and 2006 editions of the tournament which saw a total of $1.15 million on offer on each of those occasions.

The funds are at stake during a re-modelled short event of 15 matches in only 14 days from 22 September to 5 October taking place at two venues – Centurion Park and The Wanderers. Only the top eight ODI teams will play.

Says ICC CEO Haroon Lorgat, “The significant increase in prize money is just the first of a series of innovations which will mark out the ICC Champions Trophy as a high-value tournament for players, spectators and our members.”

“The new format means eight teams, 15 matches and one prize and as the only global multi-team 50-over event between ICC Cricket World Cups it will be an invaluable barometer of form as well as a great advertisement for our great sport.”

Details of how the prize money will be divided will be announced in due course but the new format and the increased prize pool are just two of a series of innovations, with others to be announced in the coming weeks, which illustrate the importance and value of the event.

The participating teams - Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, hosts South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies – have been divided into two pools of four, with the top two from each pool progressing to the semi-finals stage.

The action begins on 22 September with hosts South Africa in action against Sri Lanka in a day-night encounter at Centurion Park (the location for the women’s world cup final of 2005) and it will end with a day-night final at the same venue on 5 October.

The ICC Champions Trophy began life as the ICC Knock-Out in 1998 and was played every two years through the 2006, changing its name for the 2002 edition. The sides to have won the event are South Africa (in Bangladesh, 1998), New Zealand (Kenya, 2000), India and Sri Lanka (joint winners after the final was washed out in Sri Lanka, 2002), the West Indies (England, 2004) and Australia (India, 2006).