Indian DTH Community Forums
General News: Virat Kohli named captain of ICC World Twenty20 2016 team of the tournament - Printable Version

+- Indian DTH Community Forums (
+-- Forum: (
+--- Forum: General Discussion (
+---- Forum: Sports Zone (
+---- Thread: General News: Virat Kohli named captain of ICC World Twenty20 2016 team of the tournament (/Thread-General-News-Virat-Kohli-named-captain-of-ICC-World-Twenty20-2016-team-of-the-tournament)

Virat Kohli named captain of ICC World Twenty20 2016 team of the tournament - nairrk - 04-05-2016

Virat Kohli was named the captain of the ICC World Twenty20 2016 team, the governing body on announced Monday (April 4). The team includes four England players and two West Indies players.

Jasoy Roy and Quinton de Kock were named the openers in the playing XI while Kohli, Joe Root, Jos Buttler form the middle order of the team. Andre Russell and Shane Watson were the allrounders in the team while the bowling unit consists of Mitchell Santner, David Willey, Samuel Badree and Ashish Nehra. Mustafizur Rahman was named the 12th man.

The selection is on expected lines, with the opening pair of de Kock and Roy having dominated with the bat for their respected teams. South Africa's batting revolved around Quinton de Kock and the wicketkeeper batsman ended with 153 runs from four games. Kohli, meanwhile, was named the player of the tournament after he ended the tournament with 273 runs at an average of 136.50 with three 50-plus scores in five games.

England's Root emerged as the highest run-getter with 249 runs from six games and played an instrumental role in England recovering from the early blows in the final. 

Mitchell Santner started the tournament really well with his four-wicket haul against India and ended with 11 wickets. Though there were several notable performances from the spinners, Willey ensured some tight bowling at the top earned him 10 wickets from six games at an average of 15.90. Badree, the West Indies legspinner, bowled 23 overs in the tournament at an astonishing economy rate of 5.39 to go with his nine wickets.

Men's team
Jason Roy (England)
Quinton de Kock (South Africa, wicketkeeper)
Virat Kohli (India, captain)
Joe Root (England)
Jos Buttler (England)
Shane Watson (Australia)
Andre Russell (West Indies)
Mitchell Santner (New Zealand)
David Willey (England)
Samuel Badree (West Indies)
Ashish Nehra (India)
Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh) - 12th man

Stafanie Taylor, who led West Indies to their maiden Women's World T20 title, was named the skipper of the women's team. The team is dominated by New Zealand players with Suzie Bates, Sophie Devine, Rachel Priest and Leigh Kasperek making it to the playing XI.

Anam Amin, the Pakistan bowler, was named the 12th woman of the squad. Meg Lanning, the Australia captain, was named as the No. 3 of the team while Bates and Charlotte Edward, the England captain, were picked as openers.

The team includes three pacers in Anya Shrubsole, Megan Schutt and Deandra Dottin while Sune Luus and Leigh Kasperek were the spinners. There are no Indian players in the women's team after the hosts were knocked out after the first round.

Taylor not only led her side to a maiden WT20 triumph but also performed with both bat and ball. She scored 246 runs from six games to go with her eight wickets. Only three players crossed the 200-run mark and both Edwards and Lanning made it to the squad.

Kasperek, the spinner who once represented Scotland Under-21 team before moving to New Zealand, ended the tournament with nine wickets from five games at an astonishing average of 10.11.

Devine, the New Zealand allrounder, bagged nine sticks to go with 120 runs at an average of 40. Luss, who ended the tournament with best figures of 5 for 8, was the only player from South Africa to make it to the squad.

Women's team
Suzie Bates (New Zealand)
Charlotte Edwards (England)
Meg Lanning (Australia)
Stafanie Taylor (West Indies, captain)
Sophie Devine (New Zealand)
Rachel Priest (New Zealand, wicketkeeper)
Deandra Dottin (West Indies)
Megan Schutt (Australia)
Sune Luus (South Africa)
Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand)
Anya Shrubsole (England)
Anam Amin (Pakistan) - 12th woman