Indian DTH Community Forums
General News: Virat Kohli awarded Padma Shri - Printable Version

+- Indian DTH Community Forums (
+-- Forum: (
+--- Forum: General Discussion (
+---- Forum: Sports Zone (
+---- Thread: General News: Virat Kohli awarded Padma Shri (/Thread-General-News-Virat-Kohli-awarded-Padma-Shri)

Virat Kohli awarded Padma Shri - nairrk - 01-25-2017

[Image: prv_58cda_1485333573.jpg]
Dhoni is set to become the ninth cricketer to win the Padma Bhushan, while Kohli is the 31st player to win Padma Shri

Virat Kohli will receive Padma Shri, the fourth-highest civilian award in India, the government officially announced on Wednesday (January 25). It is also speculated that Mahendra Singh Dhoni will be awarded Padma Bhushan, India's third-highest civilian honour.

Kohli had a stellar year, both as a batsman and captain. He led the team to the No. 1 Test ranking before taking over the reins from Dhoni as the limited-overs captain as well. In the last one year, Kohli has scored 1215 runs in 12 Tests at an average of 75.93, including three double centuries.

He led from the front in the One-Day Internationals (ODIs) as well, with 924 runs from 13 games at an average of 84 and a strike rate of 101.31. Kohli was also instrumental in India's World Twenty20 campaign where he won the Player of the Tournament award.

The 28-year-old scored 273 runs in the tournament in five games with a strike rate of 146.77. As astonishing as his strike rate was, he ended the tournament with a splendid average of 136.50. Such was his dominance in the tournament that he decimated the Australian attack in the virtual quarterfinal in Mohali to take India to the semifinal, where they lost to West Indies.

Kohli becomes the 31st cricketer to win the award with the last one going to Mithali Raj, the India women ODI captain. Sakshi Malik, Dipa Karmakar Vikas Gowda and PR Sreejesh are the other recipients this year.

According to media reports, Dhoni is in the fray to be honored with the Padma Bhushan. He would then become the ninth cricketer to win the Padma Bhushan and join the elite list of CK Nayudu, Maharajkumar of Vizianagram, Vinoo Mankad, Lala Amarnath, Dinkar Deodhar, Kapil Dev, Chandu Borde and Sunil Gavaskar. The last cricketer to win this award was Chandu Borde when he was conferred with the honour in 2002.