Indian DTH Community Forums
General News: Shaw, Gill picked in India A squads for England tour - Printable Version

+- Indian DTH Community Forums (
+-- Forum: (
+--- Forum: General Discussion (
+---- Forum: Sports Zone (
+---- Thread: General News: Shaw, Gill picked in India A squads for England tour (/Thread-General-News-Shaw-Gill-picked-in-India-A-squads-for-England-tour)

Shaw, Gill picked in India A squads for England tour - nairrk - 05-08-2018

The latest graduates from India's Under-19 batch - Prithvi Shaw and Shubhman Gill - have been picked in India A squads for the England tour. While the Mumbai opener has been selected to play in both the 50-over series as well as the four-day game, Gill features in only the former.

While Shreyas Iyer has been named captain of the side for the tri-series, also involving England Lions and Windies A, Karun Nair will lead the side for the three four day games - two against Windies A and one against England Lions.

Apart from Shaw, Mayank Agarwal and Vijay Shankar are the only other players to feature in both the squads. The selectors have rewarded the players for impressive performances in the previous domestic season as well as persisted with some of the India A regulars like Ankit Bawne, Shahbaz Nadeem and Jayant Yadav - despite the latter two having less-than-impressive showing last season.

The likes of Deepak Hooda, Hanuma Vihari, K Gowtham, Prasidh Krishna, Deepak Chahar and Khaleel Ahmed have been selected in the limited overs side at the back of some good showing in the domestic season. The fringe India players such as Axar Patel, Rishabh Pant and Vijay Shankar have also been selected for the tri-series.

For the days games, the selectors have rewarded the pace duo of Rajneesh Gurbani and Navdeep Saini after an impressive Ranji Trophy season, to go with the pace of Ankit Rajpoot and Mohammad Siraj.

India A squad for tri-series: Shreyas Iyer ©, Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Shubhman Gill, Hanuma Vihari, Sanju Samson, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wk), Vijay Shankar, K. Gowtham, Axar Patel, Krunal Pandya, Prasidh Krishna, Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Shardul Thakur

India A squad for four-day games: Karun Nair ©, R. Samarth, Mayank Agarwal, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prithvi Shaw, Hanuma Vihari, Ankit Bawne, Vijay Shankar, KS Bharat (wk), Jayant Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem, Ankit Rajpoot, Mohammad Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Rajneesh Gurbani