Indian DTH Community Forums
General News: Instagram introduces 'green dot' feature to see who's online available to chat - Printable Version

+- Indian DTH Community Forums (https://www.indiandth.in)
+-- Forum: Technology & Web Services (https://www.indiandth.in/Forum-Technology-Web-Services)
+--- Forum: Technology & Web Services (https://www.indiandth.in/Forum-Technology-Web-Services--231)
+--- Thread: General News: Instagram introduces 'green dot' feature to see who's online available to chat (/Thread-General-News-Instagram-introduces-green-dot-feature-to-see-who-s-online-available-to-chat)



Instagram introduces 'green dot' feature to see who's online available to chat - nairrk - 07-20-2018


Instagram has announced a new green dot status feature for you to easily connect with friends by displaying if you’re currently available online to chat.

On its blog post, Instagram said that when your friends are active on Instagram, you’ll see a green dot next to their profile picture in various spaces within the app, including their posts from feed. Earlier the feature was only working in Direct inbox, where it showed green dot for active users, and time stamp (like “Active 18m ago”) for users who were currently active.

But there’s a catch, the green dot will only be visible next to those friends who follow you or people who you have talked to in Direct inbox.

Instagram is also giving you the ability to hide/ turn off your online status, so you need not to worry. To disable the feature, you’ll need to visit “Activity Status” in app’s Settings menu, where it’s set to “on” by default. You can turn off the toggle there and it’ll not show your online status to anyone.

“This update gives you the ability to have more of those realtime conversations while giving you the control to hide your status altogether,” noted Instagram blog.

Recently, there was another report on Instagram’s upcoming feature where the app will allow its users to easily remove their followers. This new feature will reportedly work for users with public accounts only. The feature seems to be an attempt to give users more control over their follower list so that they can remove users who they don’t want as followers without blocking them. Although, practically there is no way to stop anyone from seeing your photos unless you change the account type to Private.

Source: